Rhythm Recording Project

Summary

I made two different beats to better understand the components of making them.

My First Rhythm

https://onlinesequencer.net/875821

I first figured out what noises I liked from the drum kit and then I added and mixed them until I liked how it sounded.

One of My Favorite Rhythms

https://www.hooktheory.com/theorytab/view/phil-collins/in-the-air-tonight

I like this beat because its very light under the melody until around the middle of the song where it gets really intense.

My Second Rhythm

https://onlinesequencer.net/875951

There are two types of drum kits on online sequencer- the original drum kit, and the electric drum kit. I used the normal drum kit for most of my beats in the rhythm, but for my accent beats I used the electric drum kit as it was louder. I also used cross rhythm by having the main beat, and then adding stuff over the top of it.

Terms and Concepts

Meter – a repeating stress, accent, or pattern that keeps the pulse of the song. it’s like the heartbeat of the song

Pacing – the speed the composition is played at

Tempo – the speed of the music

Beat – a rhythmic movement or speed that the music is played at

Hip Hop – a genre of music that features rapping, with an electronic background

Out of the Pocket – not in the groove with the rest of the composition

Quantize – transforming musical notes to an underlying musical representation. keeping on beat

Single Take – took one attempt. one and done

Multipass Recording – recording-recording multiple times

Overdub – recording over what is already there, or playing along with it

C1 Octave Range – middle c on a piano

Cowbell (note in MIDI) – a precussive instrument used for cool effects

Drum Kit – a set of percussive drums and other instruments

Kick Drum (note in MIDI) – low end of the drum kit

Snare Drum (note in MIDI) – A drum with special metal components that cause it to”rattle”

Cymbal (note in MIDI) – The electronic recording, or computer generated sound of a cymbal, to be used on computers

Drum Machine (808) – An electronic device programmable to imitate a drum kit. it’s one of the first nice sounding drum machines.

Loop – seemless repeat of a sonund

Arpeggiation – playing the 1,3,5, and 1 scale

Sound Effects – sounds to fill silence, or to give an effect

One Shot Sound – little sounds in the background

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned that finding the rhythm and making a beat on the whole isn’t that difficult, but identifying the different parts is essential to making it sound good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *