Harmony Recording Project

Summary

In class today I made a tune for the purpose of better understanding harmony.

Lesson Harmony

https://onlinesequencer.net/293014

It was challenging to find notes that worked together right in a chord.

Lesson Harmony – C Major Chords

https://www.hooktheory.com/theorytab/view/alicia-keys/fallin

The chord progression of this song is 1, 5- or tonic to dominant.

The key of the song is in em, which makes the tonic chord em, and the dominant chord bm7.

I like the harmony of this song because it’s very layered and it’s powerful because of that.

My Harmony

https://onlinesequencer.net/875172

I started on C and ended up on C chord. I used many triads to make chords. I payed close attention to my chord progression.

On the first measure I start with only one note which is C. And then on the second measure I do G, E, and D notes. I use more triads and leaps as the progression progresses.

The tonic chord is C and the tension chords are some of the other ones in the C scale.

Harmony Composition Terms

Drone – A continuous note that you can play over

Harmonics – “hidden” notes that help to create higherarchy in chords

Triad – 3 notes that come together and create a chord

Polyphony – many “voices”

Progression – a certain series of chords or notes that “work together” and sound good

Tonic – the first note of a scale “home”

Dominant – the fifth note of a scale that raises tension

Passimezzo Antico – A chord progression that’s a variation of a double tonic. It was popular during the Italian Renaissance

Passimezzo Moderno – “Modern half step” A chord progression that’s a variation of Passimezzo Antico. It divides the section in two and often uses a contrasting progression or section known as ripresi

Dischord –  deliberate collision of notes that are meant not to sound “pretty”

Dissonance – lack of harmony between notes “a clash”

Passing Notes – notes that don’t sound “pretty” but they are used a small amount of times like they are just “passing through”

Suspended Notes – dissonant notes being held for as long as possible and then finally moving at the last second

7th Chords – A regular triad chord plus the note seven steps above the first note

Diminished Chords – A regular triad chord with the bottom note being moved up a step

Augmented Chords – A regular triad chord with the last note being moved up a step

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

During this project, I got to learn more about harmony, how harmonies work and more about chords. I mostly used random notes in triads that I thought sounded good but I went back and revised to make them sound better.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *