Song Analysis: Since I’ve Been Loving you

Song Analysis: Since I’ve been loving you

Summary

I chose “Since I’ve been loving you” by Led Zeppelin Because I really like the guitar in this song, and its a song I really like singing to because it’s intense.

Song Analysis

TOPIC MY RESPONSES
SONG TITLE Since I’ve Been Loving You
COMPOSER(S) Led Zeppelin
YEAR 1970
COUNTRY London, UK
If you could work on this song (change it), what would you change and why? I wouldn’t, it is perfection
What is the song GENRE? Blues Rock
What is the song KEY? C Minor
What is the song TEMPO? 120 bpm
What do you like about the RHYTHM? I like the slower ish tempo but that the song is still super intense
What do you like about the ARRANGEMENT?
What do you like about the MIX? I like how prominent the drums are in this song, and that there isn’t really rhythm guitar, just lead. It leaves it with a really stripped feel, but its still loud and intense
What do you like about the TIMBRE of some or all of the instruments? I like that the guitar is in a warmer (instead of gritty) tonality and that Robert Plant’s voice is kind of gritty (at times)
What do you like about the PITCH of some or all of the instruments or vocals? I think the addition of the bass is really good in this song, its not prominent, or a focal point of the song, it almost acts as a filler instrument, but I feel like not having it there would leave the song sounding like it was missing something
Are there particular TRACK(S) that stand out? I really like the ending, how it like tapers off in a like a vibrato-esque thing with the guitar
Finally, what do you like about the overall COMPOSITION? I like how free the vocals are. Like it feels like an improvised piece because of how much repetition there is without super clear chorus/verses. (He repeats “Workin’ from seven to eleven every night, It really makes life a drag” and “Since I’ve been loving you
I’m about to lose my worried mind” multiple times throughout the song, in like seemingly random places.) I also like the guitar solo right in the middle of the song. The lack of clear structure I think adds a lot to the emotion of the song.

“A song is a musical composition intended to be performed by the human voice. This is often done at distinct and fixed pitches (melodies) using patterns of sound and silence. Songs contain various forms, such as those including the repetition and variation of sections.” wikipedia.org/wiki/Song

HookTheory for Learning About Song Structure

Holistic Songwriting’s Artist Analysis

  • This YouTube series dives into the songwriting web.
  • Marketing, Lighting, Music Videos, Image…

Mr. Le Duc’s Song Analysis Resources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *