Melody Recording Project

Summary

I wrote two melodies to show that I learned how to use the note scale degrees.

My First Melody

https://onlinesequencer.net/874335

I started at C and I went back to C as it was my tonic note. I used G2 as my bass note.

One of My Favorite Melodies

https://www.hooktheory.com/theorytab/view/minnie-riperton/lovin-you

Key- A Major

Tempo- 125 bpm

Tension notes- F#, C#

The theme is happy

My Second Melody

https://onlinesequencer.net/874342

There isn’t really a pattern but the tune ascends mostly.

I use an ascending pattern and many leaps. The tonic note in the C scale is C, the supertonic is D, the mediant is E, the subdominant is F, dominant is G, submediant is A, and the leading tone is B.

Melody Composition Terms

theme –  a longer, more flowing melodic idea.

motive – a short rhythmic idea

period –  eight measures, a musical sentence

phrase – four measures, a piece of a musical sentence 

antecedent (Question) Phrase –  The first phrase, like asking a question, sets up for the next phrase

consequent (Answer) Phrase – The second phrase, almost like answering the question phrase one said

scale degree –

  • tonic – Begins and ends the scale, determines what key you’re in and what the other notes will be [Stop, “Home”]
  • supertonic, mediant, submediant – Have a moderate level of tension, won’t get the same feeling of rest [Rest]
  • dominant, subdominant, leading tone – Have the most “forward moving force”, most tension [Go]

steps – any movement using half or whole steps

leap – any movement using intervals bigger than a whole step

conjunct motion – Melody built primarily out of steps

disjunct motion – Melody built primarily out of leap

repetition – using repeated material that can create a link between two phrases

contrast -Writing two phrases that contain and create tension and are different from each other

variation – half way between repetition and contrast, with some repeated parts and some varied parts

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned how to use tonic notes and how to go from the beginning to the end of a musical phrase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *